Nasser Al-Attiyah takes victory in 50th Anniversary Cyprus Rally

  • Nasser takes his eighth victory of the rally

Nasser Al-Attiyah has won the thrilling 50th anniversary edition of the Cyprus Rally, which took place from 6th to 8th of October. Accompanied by co-driver Mathieu Baumel, Al-Attiyah drove the powerful Volkswagen Polo GTi R5 to victory.

The competition was no easy task with a challenging 194.88 kilometres spread over 12 special stages over two days. However, Nasser Al-Attiyah showed his skill and determination, completing the event in an impressive time of 3 hours, 3 minutes and 38 seconds.

At the end of the first day, driver Simos Galatariotis led the overall standings alongside co-driver Antonis Ioannou in a Volkswagen Polo GTi R5. However, Sunday brought unexpected twists and turns, and Al-Attiyah managed to overtake his competitor. The Qatari driver eventually not only took victory in the Cyprus Rally, but also excelled by finishing 3 minutes and 21 seconds ahead of second-placed Abdullah Al-Rawahi, who was driving a Skoda Fabia R5.

The prize-giving ceremony took place at the old Nicosia City Hall in Eleftheria Square, where Qatari Ambassador HE Ali Yousef Al-Mulla had the honour of presenting the well-deserved trophy to his compatriot Nasser Al-Attiyah.

This victory marked the eighth time Nasser Al-Attiyah has been crowned champion at the Cyprus Rally, having previously triumphed in 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2017, 2019, 2020 and now 2023. His impressive track record places him in a prominent position among multi-winner rally drivers.

Of the total 23 teams that entered the competition, 16 managed to complete the first leg and 15 of them made it to the end of the rally. The Cyprus Rally once again proved to be an impressive and exciting challenge for the drivers, with Nasser Al-Attiyah shining as the undisputed winner of the 50th anniversary of this prestigious competition.